| ]
Share this history on :

Kataklysm Discography :

Origin Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Genres Death metal

Kataklysm was formed in 1991. At the beginning of their career they were mostly known for being one of the fastest, most chaotic metal bands. However, their music changed after Sylvain Houde left the band, and bassist/backing vocalist Maurizio Iacono took over Houde's vocal duties, and another full-time bassist was recruited.

In 1998, the band released Victims of this Fallen World, an album which was noted as being a change in musical style from previous albums. The following album The Prophecy (Stigmata of the Immaculate), however, saw the band return to its previous style, though less chaotic and with a touch of thrash metal.

Drummer Max Duhamel is said to have been forced out of the band because of injuries. Eventually, Duhamel recovered from his injuries and participated on Kataklysm's eighth album, In the Arms of Devastation.

Kataklysm's line-up has remained relatively stable compared to many other bands within the metal genre. The band only has one missing original member, Sylvain Houde. Drummers make out most of the band's "former members" list.

Albums :

1995 – Sorcery
1996 – Temple Of Knowledge
1998 – Victims Of This Fallen World
2000 – The Prophecy
2001 – Epic (The Poetry Of War)
2002 – Shadows And Dust
2004 – Serenity In Fire
2006 – In The Arms Of Devastation
2008 – Prevail